current
archives
profile
links
cast
rings
reviews
quizzes
25things
about me
email
gbook
InfertileMe
host
image
design
clix me

How I Love Thee...
Monday, Apr. 05, 2004, 2:21 a.m.


MOOD: So Tired
MUSIC: TV Blabbing...
WEATHER: Still Raining... Geez!!!

Good morning… My behind should so be in bed right now, but here I am typing. The reason I am up, is because my husband, King Procrastinator is also up. There are clothes thrown all over my bed that need to be folded and he was on the phone with Geico, so I decided to pass the time by doing this. It really doesn’t bother me though, because I don’t have class until laterlaterlater. Tomorrow, I have the pleasure of having blood drawn for testing. He has class at 9 a.m. though. Poor thing.

I love Ash with all my heart. I must say that and get it out of the way. Clearly, I am about to go into a deep discussion about all things Ash. I don’t think I have ever met someone who puts things off more than him. He loves putting shit off for 2,3,6,10,25 days. Hell… I bet he’d put it off for 25 years if he could. I have no idea where this awful habit comes from either. It’s ok though… because that is truly his one bad habit. A habit that crosses into every aspect of our day to day lives.

Before I met Ashley, I had said I was never going to get married. And I meant that. My big plan was to fall in love, shack up and make babies, but always have my freedom. The ability to tell ‘him’ to get out whenever he got on my nerves was very appealing to me. Where that plan went, I have no idea. Next thing I know, I meet someone, and I am married. And I married so young. How old was I? 22/23? But it was a good decision. I truly and honestly married my best friend. No matter how much he works my nerves… no matter how often I gripe and moan… no matter how many times I want to file for divorce, it is purposeless. Even if I did get a divorce, what good would it do? He may suck as times as a husband, but he is a top notch best friend. I share EVERYTHING with him. There is nothing he doesn’t know. So, I’d run off, get a divorce, and still live with him. LOL. What if I moved out? I’d be paying rent on a place I am rarely at because I am always with him. Getting into another relationship would never work, because the guy would hate me and Ashley. My ass would get dumped in a heartbeat because every time something happened, I would run off to tell Ash. So, as you can see, once I evaluate my options, the only thing that makes sense is to stay married.

Ten years into all this, and Ash can still crack me up. There is only one other man who can make me laugh like that, and that is my dad. They both keep me in stitches. Days when I am royally pissed, either one can cause me to crack a smile. I’ll be stiff lipped and uptight, but they show up, or call and I am practically on the floor. They are probably the reason my brain is out of whack every time I laugh. Think about it? I had better call Dr. Quack in the morning and share this information with him. It might be insightful since half his f’in tools weren’t working…

People think that Ashley and I have this fairytale relationship, and I guess we do. I have noticed through the years, that people think it is strange that a husband and wife share all things with each other. How in the heck is that strange? Isn’t that what you are supposed to do? What is the purpose of secrets? I remember being at my moms place for a few days and Ashley would call me every 3-4 hours and my mom would ask, “What in the hell do you two possibly have to talk about?” Well duh!! Everything. When things happen, there is no one I think to share it with other than Ash. He is the first one to pop into my mind. Whether it is because I stubbed my toe, smelled something funky in the fridge or won $100 on my scratch off… it all reverts back to him.

I have come to realize over the years though, that the reason for that is because he sincerely cares. He isn’t half assing it. He is listening to me… concerned about whatever. He listens attentively… closely… and responds. It’s in these things that he lets me know I am his all and all. There is nothing that Ash would not do for me. If I wanted a new Hummer tomorrow, he would tell me I can’t have it tomorrow, but he’ll work on getting it for me. Then he’d run out and get 20 jobs and save up for this Hummer. In the early days of our relationship, that drove me nuts! I couldn’t open my mouth about something without having him trying to figure out how to get it for me. I finally had to tell him, “Baby, slow your roll… I don’t need it.” As time passed, he started getting a feel of the things I really wanted and made sure I had it…which I love. We don’t exchange gifts on holidays and such… which I don’t mind because he gives me everything else I want. My Christmas might come in June and I like that.

At the end of the day… Ash and I have a non-traditional-traditional marriage. It suits our needs. I love my husband with every ounce of my being. There is no other like him, and that is a good thing because that means I have the best. And I am keeping him. Hehe


add a comment (0 so far)

fallen petals - new blooms

|[ Brownie makes me so happy ;)]|