current
archives
profile
links
cast
rings
reviews
quizzes
25things
about me
email
gbook
InfertileMe
host
image
design
clix me

She'll Be Coming 'Round The Mountain...
Friday, May. 14, 2004, 1:10 p.m.


MOOD: Mixed
MUSIC: Hoobastank
WEATHER: Cold!! Like 60 Degrees... WTF???

I have moved... visit my new site over at http://infertileme.typepad.com. However, you can still read today's entry below.


Today is the day I am heading out of town. I am currently experiencing a severe case of mixed emotions. Hope says I should stay home because I am pregnant... I know she is crazy, so all of that goes out the window. I refuse to even confirm a yeah or nay until Mister Cottontail arrives. If he is gone for a delayed period of time, I MIGHT pee on a stick. MIGHT! I am avoiding going any where near a Dr's office because I don't want to be asked about it. Ashley took in his 'little men' for analysis this morning and usually I would tag along but I chose to hide under my covers.

Ashley is taking me somewhere called Ute Park. For those of you who do not know me personally, parks are not my thing. I don't do parks. I don't camp... I don't like hanging outdoors. I am a 5-star hotel kind of gal. I like to sleep in comfort on a California King sized bed with a big TV at the end of it. I want to plug in my curling iron in the morning and then head out to do some shopping. That is my idea of a vacation. Ashley instead is talking about fishing and riding horses.

He showed me a picture of this Ute Park place and I saw a big hotel in the center of the town. I got a little excited because he could have rural living and I could sit in the hotel and order room service. He told me no, we were staying in a cabin. A cabin?

When we lived in Milwaukee, we would drive across state to stay in a little town called La Farge. It is an Amish community that I absolutely adore. In the midst of all the Amish, there is a family who runs a bed and breakfast called Trillium. It's gorgeous and so very cozy. To me, it was like being in a magical place. Deer would run across the yard, birds would be chirping, you could hear the light sounds of the river flowing behind the cabin. The cabin wasn't anything ordinary either. It was a 2-story wood cabin with a fire place, full functioning kitchen, 4 bedrooms and 2 baths. Every morning, Roseanne (the hostess) would come and bring us freshly baked bread, fresh jams and jellies, freshly churned butter... I couldn't believe it. Back in the day she charged practically nothing for us to stay the whole weekend. We tried to head out there about twice a year.

We would always drive around and mingle with the Amish. They have such beautiful stuff and because I LOVE to shop, they would get me to buy something. Once, I bought a quilt - I won't tell you how much it cost - but it took them over 6 months to make. I am so paranoid about messing it up that I keep it folded up in this big-comforter-type-clear- plastic-bag-thing. Every time my mom comes to visit she asks me if she can have it. Knowing how much I paid for it, Ashley's eyes always get big. I think he thinks I just might give it to her. (Once upon a time, in a moment of complete psychosis, I gave my mother -after she asked for it- my complete Dooney & Bourke set. It had cost me several thousands of dollars and I am almost certain Ashley had a mini-stroke upon discovering what I had done.) I would never give the quilt away though.

Anyway, where we are going is nothing like Trillium. In fact, it looks like one of those places I envision a cabin looking like. It is these cabins that cause me to stay as far away from the woods as possible. If you actually click the link, make sure you scroll down to the Ute Park cabin. Even Ashley was like, "oh... sorry" after he looked at the site. Oh well, I can grin and bear it for a few days.

So think of me while I am far far and away. That is not my only request though. I have the pleasure of having an insight to so many other blog's about infertility. I was approached the other day with an idea to compose a book about infertility... but not just from my perspective, but from several different woman. I suppose you could say it would be a compilation of thoughts in a diary format. Something real and courageous.. lets you know there is life after the first failed IVF, even the second and third. Before I started journaling online, I used to write everything down. I have boxes of diaries. What a bitch it would be to have to type all that up. I think the idea is wonderful though and would be willing to do the work needed to get it done. Truthfully, my first response was why would I need a book when I can go from site to site and read? But not everyone is online... not everyone knows about this incredible network of women. What do you think of the idea?


add a comment (0 so far)

fallen petals - new blooms

|[ Brownie makes me so happy ;)]|